Giving Thanks for Meaningful Relationships

IMG_1132 (1)A friend of mine recently shared a link on Facebook to this blog post by Kylene Beers: “Why I Hated Meredith’s First Grade Teacher.” Out of curiosity, I clicked on the link. To my surprise, it’s actually a tribute to her daughter’s first grade teacher, Ms. Milner, and the joy of learning she helps her daughter find. After reading it with tears rolling down my cheek, I took the time to reflect on my own Ms. Milner and thought about the educators who helped lead me to where I am today. Then I thought about my daughter Mia, who is in kindergarten and came to Walker last year in pre-k, and the immeasurable ways her Walker family – her classroom and specials teachers, her preschool counselor, her EDP and SummerGarten counselors, even Mr. Tinsley who watches over things, but most importantly, opens our car door in the morning with a warm smile – has already made an impact on her life in just 18 short months. The list of those at Walker who are instilling a love of learning for her is endless, and I realized how incredibly grateful I am for Mia to attend a school where meaningful relationships abound.

Students at Walker are surrounded by educators who teach, nurture and inspire every day. As you think about your child’s experience at Walker, you can likely recall so many moments when teachers and coaches recognized your child’s potential and went out of their way to help him shine. They are his cheerleaders, his advocates and the ones who cultivate his ‘wanting to know.’ And they are the ones who provide the invaluable experiences that help our children find success now and in the future.

My role at Walker is to manage our school’s Annual Fund, which through the philanthropic support of our community, brings resources to our operating budget that tuition alone could not provide. I am often asked, “What exactly does the Annual Fund support?” “Why should I give?” The short answer is that the Annual Fund supports the educators who are the cornerstone of a Walker education. Whether this is new curriculum materials, technology enhancements, or professional learning opportunities to help ensure our teachers remain experts in their field, Annual Fund gifts work to provide our faculty the resources they need to help our students flourish in and out of the classroom.

I hope you’ll join me in supporting the Annual Fund and giving Walker teachers like Ms. Milner the tools they need to provide an exceptional education to our children. For I know, just like me and Kylene, we all are incredibly grateful for the tremendous ways they teach, inspire and nurture our most precious gifts each and every day.

Leave a Reply

